May 4, 2020

How accurately and appropriately are foods and their ingredients represented to the consumer? Join AOAC experts to learn about food authenticity analytical science in a live webcast on Tuesday, June 2, 2020 in collaboration with Food Analysis and Separation Science.

 


Register now >

Forward to a friend >


Start Times:
Broadcast 1: 10am BST / 11am CEST / 2.30pm IST / 5pm SGT (best for Eur0pe/Asia)
Broadcast 2: 10am PDT / 1pm EDT (best for USA/Canada)

This eSeminar will include a series of presentations from key experts in the field, including:

Food authenticity, EMA, and the analytical challenges facing industry, regulators, and consumers
Bert Pöpping (FOCOS, Germany)
Targeted test applications: assessing gaps in current capabilities and bridging non-targeted and targeted testing approaches
Joe Boison (AOAC International)
Non-targeted testing approaches, challenges, and successes
John Szpylka (AOAC International)
Strategic approach of the AOAC INTERNATIONAL Food Authenticity Methods Program for 2020
Palmer Orlandi (AOAC International)

Register now >

Forward to a friend >


Economically motivated adulteration (EMA) encompasses a wide range of deliberate acts designed to misrepresent the authenticity and value of a food product for economic gain. This includes the fraudulent addition of non-authentic substances, or the removal or replacement of authentic substances without the purchaser’s knowledge for the economic gain of the seller.

This webinar will describe the impact of EMA and the continued need for analytical vigilance to combat fraud through defined Standard Method Performance Requirements (SMPRs®) and internationally recognized Official Methods of AnalysisSM. Food authenticity experts will highlight the complexities for stakeholders in the supply chain and for government regulators when food fraud testing is required. These include defining authenticity for any commodity of interest, detecting the presence and identity of an adulterant, and employing an integrated approach that incorporates both non-targeted and targeted testing.

Attendees will be introduced to the approach taken by AOAC INTERNATIONAL’s Food Authenticity Methods Program and to the targeted and nontargeted consensus performance standards recently adopted for methods to authenticate high priority commodities such as olive oil, honey and milk. Lastly, attendees will be introduced to the program’s strategic goals for 2020 that include an expansion of commodity-specific analytical standards for authenticity, guidance on reference materials and the incorporation of standards for molecular and genomic applications to complement chemical and spectroscopic methods currently under consideration to support authenticity claims and combat fraud.

The presentations will be followed by a live Q&A and wrap up.

Send your questions

We encourage you to send in your questions about the AOAC Food Authenticity Methods program ahead of time to ensure your area of interest is covered. Email your questions Palmer Orlandi at [email protected]