18 AOAC Sections connect analytical communities in the U.S. and worldwide, representing four continents and more than 100 countries.

Sections provide opportunities for participants to share information, build professional contacts, expand leadership skills, and gain practical management experience. Each AOAC Section hosts at least one networking event each year, featuring technical presentations and discussions by leading local and national experts. To join a Section, use the contact information below.

Asia & Asia-Pacific

China Section

People’s Republic of China and Hong Kong
President: Ling Cheng-Zhu, Qingdao Customs
General Contact: [email protected]

India Section

President: Shrinivas Joshi
Contact: [email protected]

Japan Section

President: Takashi Hirao, House Foods Group Inc., [email protected]
General Contact: [email protected]

Southeast Asia Section (new in 2021!)

Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Timor-Leste, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Vietnam
President: Phillippe Gallardo, Nestlé Quality Assurance Centre, Singapore
General Contact: [email protected]

Taiwan Section

Taiwan and Penhu, Kimmen, and Matsu regions
President: Ting-Jang Lu, National Taiwan University
General Contact: [email protected]

Thailand Section

Facebook: Thailand Section of AOAC International
President: Orawan Kaewprakaisangkul, National Food Institute
General Contact: [email protected], [email protected]


Europe Section

All European countries except Belgium, Netherlands, and Luxembourg
President: Thomas Gude, SQTS
Contact: [email protected]

Lowlands Section

Belgium, Luxembourg, and The Netherlands
Chairman: Monique de Nijs, RIKILT – Institute of Food Safety
General Contact: [email protected]

Central and South America

Latin American–Caribbean Section

Central America, Mexico, South America, and the Caribbean islands
Contact: Nuri Gras Rebolledo: [email protected]


Sub-Saharan Africa Section

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Democratic Republic), Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Réunion, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Somalia, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe
President: Owen Fraser, PhD, Nestlé Institute of Food Safety and Analytical Sciences
General Contact: [email protected]

North America

Central Section

Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio, West Virginia, and western Pennsylvania
President: Bryan Wirthwine, Q Laboratories, Inc.

Mid-Atlantic Section

District of Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, southeastern Pennsylvania, and Virginia
Treasurer: Roger M. Brauninger, A2LA

Mid-Canada Section

Province of Manitoba
President: David Grant
General Contact: [email protected]

Midwest Section

Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wisconsin
President: Sydney Orel, Kansas Department of Agriculture
Contact: [email protected] or (+1) 785-564-7441

Pacific Northwest Section

Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington, and Canadian provinces of Alberta and British Columbia
Chair: Jim Hungerford, US FDA – ORA, ATC

Pacific Southwest Section

Arizona, California (except Southern California Section counties), Colorado, Hawaii, Utah, NV
President: Josh Wurzer, SC Labs

Southern Section

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, New Mexico, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas
President: J. Dana Shell, Georgia Department of Agriculture
General Contact: [email protected]

Southern California Section

Counties of Imperial, San Bernadino, Orange, Ventura, Riverside, San Diego and Los Angeles
President: Sumit Sen, FDA