The AOAC INTERNATIONAL Awards Program recognizes significant contributions to the analytical science community and to AOAC itself.

AOAC/Eurofins Foundation “Testing for Life” Student Award

This AOAC Award, supported by contributions from the Eurofins Foundation, is designed to encourage student researchers who are advancing basic or applied science in analytical or molecular testing for food safety, food security, food defense, food authenticity, or health and environmental protection. Learn more >


The Fellow of AOAC INTERNATIONAL Award recognizes the dedication and commitment of those volunteers who serve the Association.

Any AOAC member may nominate a candidate to the Committee on Fellows via the online form, after which the nominee must fill out an application.

Fellows are chosen from those members who have given 10 or more years of meritorious service to AOAC. A shortlist of candidates is identified from the pool of eligible nominees by the AOAC Committee on Fellows and submitted for final selection by the AOAC Board of Directors. View all Fellows since 1963 >

Nomination forms are due at the AOAC office by February 15 of each year.

Member Service Award

The AOAC INTERNATIONAL Member Service Award Program recognizes all AOAC members who have attained the milestone anniversaries of 5, 10, 25, and 50 years of membership in the Association.

Harvey W. Wiley Award

AOAC INTERNATIONAL’s most prestigious scientific award, the Harvey W. Wiley Award, is presented to a scientist (or group of scientists) who have made an outstanding contribution to analytical method development in an area of interest to AOAC INTERNATIONAL.

As part of the program, the winner has the opportunity to nominate a student to receive the Harvey Wiley Award Scholarship. In addition, the winner is highlighted at the Annual Meeting. Candidates are nominated by the scientific community. View all winners since 1957 >

Nomination forms are due at the AOAC INTERNATIONAL offices by January 31 of each year.

The Harvey W. Wiley Award Fund

All members of the analytical science community are encouraged to support excellence in their profession by contributing to the Harvey W. Wiley Award Fund. This fund is used solely to support both the Harvey W. Wiley Award and the Harvey W. Wiley Scholarship. 

To donate to the Harvey W. Wiley Award Fund, please contact AOAC Customer Service at [email protected].

Technical Division Award

The Technical Division on Reference Materials (TDRM) award recognizes contributions and active participation of members of the Technical Division. 

TDRM offers a Student Award for the purpose of promoting awareness of the need for method performance evaluation at an earlier point in a chemist’s career. The award is based upon a report that evaluates either the use of a reference material for method performance evaluation or the development of a new reference material. 

Journal of AOAC INTERNATIONAL Best Paper Award

This award recognizes the most outstanding original and creative journal article published in the peer reviewed Journal of AOAC INTERNATIONAL in the calendar year.

Official Methods Board Awards

The AOAC Official Methods Board recognizes significant contributions and meritorious volunteer service to the AOAC analytical scientific community, including: 

  • Achievement in Technical and Scientific Excellence Award
  • Expert Review Panel of the Year
  • Technical Service Award
  • Method of the Year